The Royal Institution

Mathematics Masterclasses in Cambridge (Series 1†††† 2008/9)


The Programme


20/9/08†† ††Mathletics†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† with Suzanne Riley

†††††††††††††††††† and Strategy Games

The Trinity Hall Lecture



27/9/08 Geometry With a

††††††††††††††† Graphical Calculator†††††††††††††††††††††† withJenny Orton

††††††††††††††††† ††Introduced by Cynthia Fries

The Texas Instruments Ltd Lecture



4/10/08†† Investigating NRICH †††††††††††††††††††withJenny Piggott

†††††††††††††††††† ††Introduced by Alex Gurney


11/10/08 Avalanche!†††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††with Jim McElwaine

†††††††††††††††††† Introduced by Alan Thompson


11/10/08Some Problems In 1 2 and

3 Dimensions†††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††with Lyndon Baker

††††††††††††††††††† Introduced by Janet Oswell



Parents/Guardians are kindly requested to arrive by 9.45 am and return by 12.30pm to collect their child


Lectures are in B Dining Hall, Trinity Hall, except on 4th October, which will be at the Centre for

Mathematical Sciences on Wilberforce Road. There will be a Reception for parents after the last session,

in the Lecture Theatre, Trinity Hall at which certificates will be presented




††††††††††††††††††††††† Alfonso Rosse††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Netherhall School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Amy Blackett†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawtry V C

Anna Hills†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Peterís School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Ben Flack†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Impington V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Caitlyn Maher††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Hinchinbrooke School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Chris Murray†††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Swavesy V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Ellie Davis††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Neots C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Emma Bithell†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Comberton V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Grace Newton-Livens†††††††††††† -†††††††††† Bottisham V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Hannah Hennessey†††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Bedeís School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Jack Tainsh††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Swavesey V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Jesse Campion Loth††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawston V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Kathryn Howard††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Linton V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Kieran Glasssmith†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Linton V C

Logan McKelvey††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sir Harry Smith C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Louis Blackburn-Maze††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawston V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Marie Bowers†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Longsands College

††††††††††††††††††††††† Matilda Haymes††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Hinchinbrooke School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Michael Middleton††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawston V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Mitchell Cornell-Steggles††††† -†††††††††† Netherhall School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Priyanka Mocherla††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Impington V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Rebecca Rickwood††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawtry V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Robert Richardson††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Neale Wade C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Ryan Ellington†††††††††† ††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sir Harry Smith C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Samantha Calvey††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Bedeís School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Sung Ming Wong†††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Neots C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Thomas Butler†††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Neale Wade C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Zoe Newman†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Peterís School




Our Sponsors


The Committee is a team of volunteers who give freely of their time to organise and support the masterclasses.

Listed below are the individuals and institutions who have contributed financially to support the running of the masterclasses.

We remain very grateful for their generosity.


ARM Ltd., Cambridge Econometrics, Christís College, Clare College, Downing College,

Girton College, Gonville and Caiusí College, Grant Instruments, Kingís College, Lucy Cavendish College,

Newnham College, Ridgeons, Robinson College, St Johnís College, Dame Marilyn Strathern,

Tarquin Publications, Dr Paul Tillett, Trinity College, Trinity Hall, University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate