The Royal Institution

Mathematics Masterclasses in Cambridge (Series 2a†††† 2008-2009)


The Programme


8/11/08†††† Mathletics†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† with Fran Watson

††††††††††††††††††† and Strategy Games

The Trinity Hall Lecture



15/11/08Crazy Calculator Fun†††††††††††††††† with Stephen Kean

††††††††††††††††††††† Introduced by Cynthia Fries

The Casio ElectronicsLtd Lecture



22/11/08†† Semi-Regular Tiling††††††††††††† withPaul Stephenson

††††††††††††††††††††† Introduced by Alan Thompson


29/11/08Fibonacci and other sequences with Lyndon Baker

†††††††††††††††††††† Introduced by Alan Thompson


6/12/08††† Solving Puzzles Ė with Logic††††† with Julia Anghileri

††††††††††††††††††† Introduced by Alex Gurney



Parents/Guardians are kindly requested to arrive by 9.45 am and return by 12.30pm to collect their child


Lectures are in B Dining Hall, Trinity Hall,


There will be a Reception for parents after the last session, in the Lecture Theatre,

Trinity Hall at which certificates will be presented




††††††††††††††††††††††† Alistair Crook†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Bedeís School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Bryn Davies††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Bassingbourn VC

Chloe Mackintosh†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Swavesey V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Christopher Levitt††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Soham VC

††††††††††††††††††††††† Esther Brassett††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Chesterton CC

††††††††††††††††††††††† Florence Burn††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Soham VC

††††††††††††††††††††††† Gareth Hughes†††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Cottenham VC

††††††††††††††††††††††† Harrison Kirby††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Comberton V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Harry McLachlan†††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Neots C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Hayley Whittingham†††††††††††† -†††††††††† Bassingbourn VC

††††††††††††††††††††††† James Bowen††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Longsands College

††††††††††††††††††††††† James Oldfield†††††††††††††††††††††† - ††††††††† Sawtry V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Jimi Mallett††††††††††††††††††††††††††† - ††††††††† Sawtry V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Jonathan Rolph†††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawston V C

Kai Steemers†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Bedeís School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Keiran Harrow††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Neots C C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Lacey Thornton††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Manor School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Laura Warwick††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Chesterton CC

Lauren Thompson†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawston V C

Louise Todd†††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Swavesey V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Marianne Kerley††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Swavesey V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Matthew Arnold†††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Cottenham VC

††††††††††††††††††††††† Matthew Crosby†††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Hinchinbrooke School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Megan Turner††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Sawtry V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Roman Jezek†††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Comberton V C

††††††††††††††††††††††† Saffie Usher†††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† Hinchinbrooke School

††††††††††††††††††††††† Thomas Hemingway†††††††††††† -†††††††††† Longsands College

††††††††††††††††††††††† Tim Hartley†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††† St Bedeís School


Our Sponsors


The Committee is a team of volunteers who give freely of their time to organise and support the masterclasses.

Listed below are the individuals and institutions who have contributed financially to support the running of the masterclasses.

We remain very grateful for their generosity.


ARM Ltd., Cambridge Econometrics, Christís College, Clare College, Downing College,

Girton College, Gonville and Caiusí College, Grant Instruments, Kingís College, Lucy Cavendish College,

Newnham College, Ridgeons, Robinson College, St Johnís College, Dame Marilyn Strathern,

Tarquin Publications, Dr Paul Tillett, Trinity College, Trinity Hall, University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate